Welcome to the Net Muslims Forums.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Halal Glossary

  1. #1
    Administrator Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    2,154

    Default Halal Glossary

    Halal Glossary
    source: http://www.ifanca.org/glossary/

    Ahlul Kitab
    A term from the Quran. It refers to the People who received Divine Scriptures and is a reference to the Christians and the Jews.

    ALLAH
    The proper name of GOD, The Creator. ALLAH is a single being with no partners.

    Antioxidant
    Compounds that delay or prevent oxidation of foods. Examples are BHA, BHT and citric acid.

    BHA
    Butylated Hydroxy Anisole. It is an antioxidant. BHA is Halal.

    BHT
    Butylated Hydroxy Toluene. It is an antioxidant. BHT is Halal.

    Carrageenan
    An extract from Irish Moss, which forms a gel in food systems. It is used as a food ingredient. Carrageenan is Halal.

    Casein
    The major protein in milk. It is used in the manufacture of most cheeses. It may be Halal or haram, depending upon the enzyme used to produce it.

    Chocolate Liquor
    A semi-viscous sweet syrup containing chocolate, sugar and other ingredients. It is used in making candy, drinks and other chocolate flavored foods. Chocolate liquor is not alcoholic and is Halal, unless haram ingredients are added to it.

    Clarifying Agents
    A group of chemical compounds used in liquid foods to remove cloudiness due to suspended matter.

    Cream of Tartar
    A white crystalline chemical called potassium bitartarate.

    Cultures
    Several bacteria and other microbes used singly or in combination to bring about fermentation in several foods. They are used in the manufacture of fermented milks, cheeses and fermented meat products.

    Diglycerides
    Fatty substances containing glycerol and two fatty acids. Diglycerides can be made from animal or vegetable fats and they are used as an emulsifier in food products. If made from Halal animals slaughtered in the Islamic way or from plant sources, they are Halal. Otherwise they are haram. Currently, it is best to look for products using only 100% vegetable diglycerides.

    Emulsifiers
    A chemical substance that keeps fats (or oils) dispersed in water or water droplets dispersed in fats (or oils). Emulsifiers are used in foods containing both fats (or oils) and water. Examples of emulsifiers are lecithin and mono and diglycerides. Emulsifiers can be made from animal or vegetable sources. If made from Halal animals slaughtered in the Islamic way or from plant sources, they are Halal. Otherwise they are haram.

    Enzymes
    Protein substances found and formed in all living cells. They bring about chemical reactions inside and outside the body, without being consumed themselves. They are extracted from animals or microorganisms and are utilized in the food industry to manufacture cheese and other products. If made from Halal animals slaughtered in the Islamic way, from plant sources or from microorganisms, they are Halal. Otherwise they are haram. Currently, it is best to look for microbial enzymes.

    Gelatin
    A derived protein of animal origin. It is made from the skins, bones and connective tissues and used in desserts and as an additive in a variety of food products. If made from Halal animals slaughtered in the Islamic way, it is Halal. Otherwise it is haram. Unless a product containing gelatin is certified Halal or says Halal gelatin, it is most likely haram and should be avoided.

    Halal
    An Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. Halal certification indicates a product is lawful or permitted.

    Haram
    An Arabic word meaning unlawful or prohibited.

    Lard
    A saturated fat derived from pork. It is used in frying oils and bakery products. Lard is haram and any products containing lard are haram.

    Lecithin
    An emulsifier comprised of glycerol, two fatty acids, phosphoric acid and choline. It is extracted from egg yolks, soybeans or animal fats. If made from Halal animals slaughtered in the Islamic way, from plant sources or egg yolks, it is Halal. Otherwise it is haram. It is best to stick to products that are Halal certified or contain vegetable lecithin or soya lecithin.

    Mashbooh
    An Arabic word meaning suspect or questionable. Mashbooh items can be produced from Halal or Haram sources. When the specific source is not known, the items are suspect or questionable.

    Monoglycerides
    Fatty substances containing glycerol and one fatty acid. Monoglycerides can be made from animal or vegetable fats and are used as emulsifiers in food products. If made from Halal animals slaughtered in the Islamic way or from plant sources, they are Halal. Otherwise they are haram. Currently, it is best to look for products using only 100% vegetable diglycerides.

    Pepsin
    An enzyme extracted from animal stomachs, especially pig stomachs, and used in the production of cheese. Pepsin is haram.

    Quran
    The Divine revelation to the Prophet Muhammad, may the peace and blessings of ALLAH be upon him. The Quran was revealed through he Archangel Jibril, may peace be upon him, and is the direct words of ALLAH. It was memorized by the Prophet and his followers and continues to be memorized by thousands of Muslims. The Quran is the source of wisdom and law for Muslims.

    Rennet
    An enzyme extracted from the 4th stomach of calves and used in the production of cheese. If the calves are slaughtered in the Islamic way, it is Halal. Otherwise it should be avoided. Microbial rennet is Halal.

    Shortening
    A blend of fats and/or oils used in baked products. If made from Halal animals slaughtered in the Islamic way or from plant sources, it is Halal. Otherwise it is haram. Currently, it is best to look for products using only vegetable shortening.

    Stearic Acid
    A long chain fatty acid found abundantly in most saturated fats. It can also be synthesized. It is used to make functional chemicals and metallic stearates (sodium stearate, potassium stearate, etc.) for a variety of food applications. If made from Halal animals slaughtered in the Islamic way or from plant sources, it is Halal. Otherwise it is haram. Currently, it is best to look for products using only vegetable stearates.

    Tallow
    A white solid fat obtained from cattle, sheep or goats and used in making shortenings and frying oils. If made from animals slaughtered in the Islamic way, it is Halal. Otherwise it is haram. Currently, it is best to avoid edible products containing tallow unless they are Halal certified.

    Whey
    The watery part of milk that separates from the curd during cheese making. It is used as an ingredient in many products. If the enzyme used to produce the whey and cheese is Halal, the whey is Halal. Otherwise it is not. It is best to avoid products containing whey unless they are Halal certified.

    Many of these definitions and descriptions were extracted from the book Islamic Dietary Laws and Practices, by Mohammad M. Hussaini, M.S. and Ahmad H. Sakr, Ph.D.


    “Say: O My slaves who have transgressed against themselves! Despair not of the Mercy of Allah, verily Allah forgives all sins. Truly, He is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.” (39:53)

  2. #2
    Administrator Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    2,154

    Default Food ingredients and terminology

    Search for information about all the different INGREDIENTS used in foods @ http://www.whatisinit.com/frames/fra...isinit_new.htm.

    Search for information about all the different TERMS used in foods @ http://www.whatisinit.com/frames/fra...isinit_new.htm.


    “Say: O My slaves who have transgressed against themselves! Despair not of the Mercy of Allah, verily Allah forgives all sins. Truly, He is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.” (39:53)

  3. #3
    Senior Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,803

  4. #4
    Super Mod/NM facebooker Array
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Byram, Mississippi, USA
    Posts
    1,790

    Default

    I asked my bother and sister why were they eating "starburst" and "skittles". They said the company said it contained "beef galatin". For those who live in the USA please dial 1-800-055-1998 for more info.

    This doesn't mean that I've been eating them though. Still scared.

  5. #5
    islamirama.wordpress.com Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    9,397

    Default

    We don't eat anything that has animal products or by products in it, regardless of it being pork, beef or anything else.

    http://soundvision.com/info/halalhealthy/

  6. #6
    islamirama.wordpress.com Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    9,397

    Default

    Haram Ingredients Hidden in Food

    By Eliot Beer 15-Jun-2016

    Muslim consumers may be unintentionally consuming significant quantities of "hidden" haram ingredients in food products thanks to complex supply chains, according to a new report.

    The report - "Addressing the Halal Ingredients Opportunity: Industry Developments" - by Thomson Reuters and DinarStandard, published this month, claimed consumption of forbidden products was widespread in the Muslim world.

    It found that the most commonly consumed haram products are gelatin, lard, pepsin and food coloring, along with alcohol-derived ingredients.

    'Consumption is widespread'

    "Pigs, alcohol, and unclean animals, including insects, and any derivative products, have been forbidden for consumption in Islam. Despite this, the use of haram ingredients and unintended consumption by Muslims is widespread, with a general lack of awareness among Muslim consumers and importers," the report's authors wrote.

    It quoted Abid Masood of the Halal Food Council of Europe as saying: "Gelatin for food consumption is among the most problematic ingredient categories-its use is very widespread and its source [is] most likely not halal, and probably from pigs."

    Of the US$2.7bn-worth of gelatin produced in 2015, around 45% was from pigs and 50% from cows-with only gelatin sourced from fish or halal-slaughtered cows suitable for Muslims, said the report.

    Haram gelatin also crops up in unexpected places: the report cited Fe Jazzareen Mor Jappar Khan of Persis Management as saying that gelatin is often used as a filter for apple juice-a fact few consumers would know.

    "There are a lot of invisible processes in the ingredients industry that consumers would not know about. The use of fermentation, which creates alcohol, and animal-derived products is so widespread that many products would not be suitable, or would be questionable, for Muslim consumers," said Stephan Heck of DSM Nutritional Products, quoted in the report.

    "[Muslim] consumer awareness is very low at this point about what they can and cannot eat. There are more and more educated people, and they start checking the labels in detail. However, many of them don't know and it's up to the companies to communicate the challenge and their halal status to consumers. As an intermediate supplier, we provide assurance to our customers that we follow the halal process," he added.

    Challenges and opportunities

    Along with complex supply chains, the report also cited the lack of a unified halal standard as a factor in the issues with haram ingredients in food. But it claimed the market was also ripe with opportunity, from growing e-commerce platforms such as DagangHalal and Zilzar, which maintain databases of halal ingredients, to wider business opportunities for firms which embrace halal production.

    Challenges are likely to remain significant, though, with DSM's Heck commenting in the report on the challenge of finding halal suppliers: "When we pick up a new supplier, I need to know who is halal. I'm very keen that our guys build up some relationships-at the end we need to know if you can trust. It's a very hard process and you can never test everything. Especially when you look into some of the halal requirements-you need to go into a lot of depth."

    http://mobile.foodnavigator-asia.com...hidden-in-food

  7. #7
    islamirama.wordpress.com Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    9,397

    Default

    Why Pig Fat is not mentioned but code(s) are printed??


    Here is the most pertinent part in case you are in a hurry:
    So, I request all MUSLIMS or non pork [meat] eaters to check the ingredients of the ITEMS of daily use and match it with the following list of E-CODES. If any of the ingredients listed below is found, try to avoid it, as it has got PIG FAT;

    E100, E110, E120, E 140, E141, E153, E210, E213, E214, E216, E234, E252,E270, E280, E325, E326, E327, E334, E335, E336, E337, E422, E430, E431, E432, E433, E434, E435, E436, E440, E470, E471, E472, E473, E474, E475,E476, E477, E478, E481, E482, E483, E491, E492, E493, E494, E495, E542,E570, E572, E631, E635, E904.

    Update: I added another entry about E codes/numbers. See More about E numbers from VRG
    Update: An insightful comment to this entry pointed to this article: http://www.vegsoc.org/info/enumbers.html

    The full email is below:


    Are we Consuming Pig Fat (unknowingly) ???


    By Dr. M. Amjad Khan

    One of my friends, Shaikh Sahib works in Pegal, France, in the Department of Food.

    His work is to register all makes of goods, foods and medicines.

    Whenever any company is putting something in the market, its ingredients have to be approved by the Department of Food, France, and as Shaikh Sahib works in the Laboratory Quality Control, he knows about the ingredients.

    Many of these ingredients contain scientific names, but some have mathematical names, like E-904, E-141.

    At first,when Shaikh Sahib came across them, he was curious and asked his Department in charge, who was French, and he replied, "JUST DO YOUR JOB, DON'T ASK QUESTIONS".

    This aroused suspicion in Shaikh Sahib's mind and he started looking-up for them in the files. What he found was enough to ASTONISH any Muslim in the world.

    In nearly all the western countries including Europe, the PRIMARY choice for meat is PIG. There are a lot of farms in these countries to breed this animal. In France alone, Pig Farms account for more than 42,000.

    PIGS have the highest quantity of FAT in their body than any other animal. But Europeans and Americans try to avoid fats.

    Thus, where does the FAT from these PIGS go? All pigs are cut in slaughter houses under the control of the department of food and it was the headache of the department of food to dispose of the fat removed from these pigs. Formally, it was burnt (about 60 years ago).

    Then they thought of utilizing it. First, they experimented it in the making of SOAPS and it worked.

    Then, a full network was formed and this FAT was chemically Processed, Packed and Marketed, while the other manufacturing companies bought it. In the meantime, all European States made it a rule that every Food, Medical and Personal Hygiene product should have the ingredients listed on its cover. so, this ingredient was listed as PIG FAT. Those who are living in Europe for the past 40 years know about this.

    But, these products came under a ban by the ISLAMIC COUNTRIES at that time, which resulted in a trade deficit. Going back in time, if you are somehow related to South East Asia, you might know about the provoking factors of the 1857 CIVIL WAR.

    At that time, Rifle Bullets were made in Europe and transported to the sub-continent through the Sea. It took months to reach there and the gunpowder in it was ruined due to the exposure to sea.

    Then, they got the idea of coating the Bullets with fat, which was PIG FAT. The fat layer had to be scratched by teeth before using them.

    When the word spread, the soldiers, mostly Muslim and some Vegetarians, refused to fight. Which eventually lead to the Civil War. The Europeans recognized these facts, and instead of writing PIG FAT, they started writing ANIMAL FAT.

    All those living in Europe since 1970's know this fact. When the companies were asked by authorities from the MUSLIM COUNTRIES, what animal fat is, they were told it was COW and SHEEP Fat. Here again a question raised, if it was COW or SHEEP Fat, still it is HARAAM to MUSLIMS, as these animal were not SLAUGHTERED as per the ISLAMIC LAW. Thus, they were again banned. Now, these multinational companies were again facing a severe drought of money as 75% of their income comes from selling their goods to Muslim Countries, and they earn BILLIONS OF DOLLARS of Profit from their exports to the MUSLIM WORLD.

    Finally they decided to start a coding language, so that only their Departments of Food Administration should know what they are using, and the common man is left lurking in the dark.

    Thus, they started E-CODES. These E- INGREDIENTS are present in a majority of products of multinational firms including, but not limited to - TOOTH PASTE, SHAVING CREAM CHEWING GUM, CHOCOLATE, SWEETS, BISCUITS, CORN FLAKES, TOFFEES, CANNED FOODS, FRUIT TINS, Some medication Multi-vitamins Since these goods are being used in all MUSLIM Countries indiscriminately, our society is facing problems like shamelessness, rudeness and sexual promiscuity.

    So, I request all MUSLIMS to check the ingredients of the ITEMS of daily use and match it with the following list of E-CODES.

    If any of the ingredients listed below is found, avoid it, as it has got PIG FAT.

    E100, E110, E120, E 140, E141, E153,
    E210, E213, E214, E216, E234, E252,E270, E280, E325,
    E326, E327, E334, E335, E336, E337,
    E422, E430, E431, E432, E433, E434, E435, E436, E440, E470, E471, E472, E473, E474, E475,E476, E477, E478, E481, E482, E483, E491, E492, E493,
    E494, E495, E542,E570, E572, E631, E635, E904.


    It is the RESPONSIBILITY of each and every MUSLIM to follow the ISLAMIC PATH and also keep his fellow followers formed of anything that he comes across.

    May Allah Guide us in the straight path Wassalam

    M. Amjad Khan
    Medical Research Institute
    United States

    http://halalist.wordpress.com/2008/0...s-are-printed/



    E Numbers

    Always non-vegetarian

    E120 Cochineal


    Vegetarian and non-vegetarian sources


    E104** Quinoline Yellow
    E160a(ii)** Alpha-, beta-, gamma carotene (may be held in gelatine matrix)
    E161(g) Canthaxanthin
    E252 Potassium Nitrate
    E270* Lactic Acid
    E304(i) Ascorbyl Palmitate
    E304(ii) Ascorbyl Stearate
    E322* Lecithin (may be made from battery eggs)
    E325* Sodium Lactate
    E326* Potassium Lactate
    E327* Calcium Lactate
    E422 Glycerol/Glycerin
    E431 Polyoxyethylene (40) stearate
    E432 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monolaurate
    E433 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan mono-oleate
    E434 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monopalmitate
    E435 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monostearate
    E436 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan tristearate
    E442 Ammonium Phosphatides
    E445 Glyceryl esters of wood rosin
    E470(a) Sodium, potassium and calcium salts of fatty acids
    E470(b) Magnesium salts of fatty acids
    E471 Mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(a) Acetic acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(b) Lactic acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(c) Citric acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(d) Tartaric acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(e) Mono- and di-acetyl tartaric acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(f) Mixed acetic and tartaric acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E473 Sucrose esters of fatty acids
    E474 Sucroglycerides
    E475 Polyglycerol esters of fatty acids
    E476 Polyglycerol esters of polycondensed fatty acids of caster oil
    E477 Propane-1,2-diol esters of fatty acids
    E479(b) Thermally oxidised soya bean oil interacted with mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E481 Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate
    E482 Calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate
    E483 Stearyl tartrate
    E491 Sorbitan monostearate
    E492 Sorbitan tristearate
    E493 Sorbitan monolaurate
    E494 Sorbitan mono-oleate
    E495 Sorbitan monopalmitate
    E570 Stearic acid
    E585 Ferrous Lactate
    E631 Sodium 5'-inositate
    E635 Sodium 5'-ribonucleotides
    E640 Glycine and its sodium salt
    E920 L-cysteine and L-cysteine hydrochloride
    E966 Lactitol
    E1105 Lysozyme (made from eggs)
    E1518 Glycerol mono-, di- and tri-acetate

    ---
    E numbers marked * may theoretically be made in a non vegetarian version, but are practically always suitable

    E numbers marked ** are not themselves non vegetarian but may be carried in a gelatin carrier especially when used in liquids

    All other E Numbers are to the best of our knowledge always vegetarian



    Sources on E-Codes:

    https://special.worldofislam.info/Food/numbers.html
    http://www.halalcertifiering.se/hala...m_e_nummer.pdf (pdf)

    http://www.veggieglobal.com/nutritio...-additives.htm

    comments:

    Safest thing to do is to not buy anything with any number code products.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •